Conference overview

About the conference

A unique opportunity to share, learn and network

The University-Industry Interaction Conference is the annual conference of the University Industry Innovation Network (UIIN), through which UIIN brings close to 500 managers, practitioners and researchers in the field of entrepreneurial universities, collaborative innovation and university-industry interaction. Now in its 6th year, this conference is one of the largest conferences in this field and provides its participants with 3 days of sharing knowledge and interacting with peers. In order to best facilitate this, the conference is built around a number of key principles:

1. A mixture of science and practice - We foster both the research ON, as well as practical experience IN university-industry interaction. We believe that through this mixture of sharing research results on how to interact and, at the same time sharing experiences on these interactions our attendees are best equipped to further drive the interaction between university and industry.

2. Experience the local culture and knowledge facilities - Our conference enables participants to get to know the local culture and environment and learn from local good practice examples.

3. Insights into the minds of renowned leaders - Keynote speakers at UIIN events represent both the academic as well as the industry perspective, with past speakers being amongst others best-selling book authors, leaders of entrepreneurship centres, scientific experts as well as managers from SIEMENS, Volkswagen, Konica Minolta.

4. Get to work through hands-on workshops - We perceive it to be crucial for our participants to engage in practical workshops to, amongst others, reflect on their own understanding of the collaboration between university and industry, but also to interact and network with peers.

5. Expanding networks and knowledge base - We believe in building long lasting relationships and sharing knowledge beyond the actual conferendce days. As such we offer you access to 'UIIN Connect', to meet and interact before, during and after the conference with those having shared interests and goals. It is through this same tool that you can access the papers, presentations and other materials of one of the 100 speakers at our event.

Videos of past conferences

Dublin 2017

Adelaide 2017

Amsterdam 2016

Berlin 2015

Madrid 2014

Barcelona 2014

Amsterdam 2013

Scientific committee

International expertise supporting the event

Allen Alexander
Director at University of Exeter

Andreas Altmann
Rector and Executive Director at Management Center Innsbruck

David Audretsch
Ameritech Chair of Economic Development and Director of the Institute for Development Strategie at Indiana University

Thomas Baaken
Director at Science-to-Business Marketing Research Centre, Münster University of Applied Sciences

Stephen Betts
Professor of Management at William Paterson University

Alexander Brem
Professor at Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

James Cunningham
Professor of Strategic Management at Newcastle Business School

Pablo D'Este
Research Fellow at Spanish Council for Scientific Research (CSIC)

Todd Davey
Director at UIIN

Rune Dahl Fitjar
Professor of Innovation Studies at University of Stavanger

Lene Foss
Professor at UiT The Arctic University of Norway

Wolfgang Gerstlberger
(Full) Professor for Operations Management at Tallinn University of Technology

Paul Hannon
Director at Swansea University

Tobias Kesting
Manager Scientific Board at University Industry Innovation Network

Panayiotis Ketikidis
Vice Principal at CITY College

David Kirby
Vice President (Enterprise and Community Service) at The British University in Egypt

Magnus Klofsten
Professor and founding director of the Centre for Innovation and Entrepreneurship at Linköping University

Marek Kwiek
Director of the Center for Public Policy at Poznań University

Gonzalo Leon
Vice President for Strategic Programmes at UPM & Director of the Center for Technology Innovation at Technical University of Madrid

Gideon Maas
‎Executive Director International Centre for Transformational Entrepreneurship at Coventry University

Anne-Laure Mention
Director Enabling Capability Platform - Global Business Innovation at RMIT

Andy Penaluna
Research Director at Trinity St David's

Carolin Plewa
Deputy Director - Entrepreneurship, Commercialisation and Innovation Centre at The University of Adelaide

Jose García Quevedo
Associate Professor at Universitat de Barcelona

Marina Ranga
at European Commission

Dana Redford
President at Portugal Entrepreneurship Education Platform

Federica Rossi
Senior Lecturer in Economics at Birkbeck, University of London

Michael Santoro
Professor of Management at Lehigh University

Slavica Singer
UNESCO Chair in Entrepreneurship at Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek

Eric Viardot
Director at EADA Business School

Harald von Kortzfleisch
Professor for Management and Entrepreneurship at Universität Koblenz-Landau

Glenn Wightwick
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Innovation and Enterprise) at University of Technology Sydney

Practitioners committee

International expertise supporting the event

Bijan Azad
Director at American University of Beirut

Jochen Barth
Director for Employability at University Industry Innovation Network

Juan Antonio Bertolin
Managing Director at Espaitec, Science and Technology Park , Fundació General de la Universitat Jaume I

Iain Bitran
Executive Director at ISPIM – International Society for Professional Innovation Management

Johan Blaus
Director Strategic Partnerships at KTH (Royal Institute of Technology)

Christopher Christodoulides
Director of Administration and Finance at Open University of Cyprus

Sven de Cleyn
Incubation & Entrepreneurship at iMinds

Natascha Eckert
Department Head at Siemens

Lars Frolund
Development Manager at Corporate Relations and Technology Transfer at Aarhus University

Keith Herrmann
Director of Employability at University of Surrey

Angela Hillemyr
Head of Department, Mechanics and Maritime Sciences at Chalmers University of Technolgy

Troels Jacobsen
Director of Research and Innovation at Universitetet i Stavanger

Yatin Karpe
Director- Commercialization, Rowan Innovations at Rowan University

Mirjam Leloux
Director at Innovation Exchange Amsterdam

Erik Bisgaard Madsen
Vice-Dean for Private and Public Sector Services at University of Copenhagen

Ketan Makwana
CEO at Enterprise Labs™

Philipp Marquardt
Senior Manager at Siemens AG

Erik Puura
Vice Rector for Development at University of Tartu

David Romero
Professor at Tecnológico de Monterrey

Jean-Pierre Segers
Visiting Professor RTU Riga & dean PXL-Business & founder of StudentStartUP / PXL Innovative Entrepreneurship at Riga Technical University & PXL UAS

Jacyl Shaw
Director, Digital innovation at GHD

Irene Sheridan
Head of CIT Extended Campus at Cork Institute of Technology

Alberto Soraci
Head of technology transfer department at Italian Technology Broker Association (AIBT)

Steve Stevens
Business Developer at Ghent University

Robrecht Van Goolen
Head of Services - Research Coordinator at UC Leuven-Limburg

Philippe Vanrie
Chief Executive Office at EBN